Funk

Posted on September 5, 2011

0



I’ve been in a photo-funk lately.  From no inspiration to having goals that seem impossible to be reached, I am trying hard to dig myself out, but nothing seems to be working.  I think my biggest {obstacle} is that I am 37 weeks pregnant.  I am hoping once we meet this little bundle, my photo-inspiration will return and I will be happily snapping away beautiful pictures of baby and big brother.  HOPING.

I am terrible about perusing the internet, looking at photo blogs and websites.  This starts to light a fire within me, but then I get down on myself and think that my creative spark will never reach those heights.  I know, I know.  You’re probably like, oh jeez, stop whining!!  But, I am not the only photographer with struggles: look here, and here, and here. The internet is a wealth of knowledge and inspiration, but for heavens sakes, stop the comparison.  I constantly have to remind myself of this. I am me.  I have my own style and I do things at my own pace (sometimes a snails pace when having to keep any eye on a 3 year old and waddling around about to have a baby).  I do have to give a shout out to my biggest support group, my family.  They pick me up when I am down.  Especially the husband, he knows how to give advice that gives me that pick me up and makes me get it done.  I will admit sometimes it is not welcomed advice, but he is usually right (dammit!).

Mental note: a positive outlook and support system are vital when having and making goals.

For now, my mama and wife identities are here and now.  My artist and photographer identities have taken a back seat.  This is okay with me.  I know how lucky I am and don’t have to look far to be constantly reminded of this.  But, this mama needs a creative outlet.  I’m still trying to figure out how to juggle all of these identities at once.  I think this may be one of the secrets of the universe I (or anyone else) may never figure out.

