Gardening for Fun

Posted on May 3, 2011

0



Every Spring/Summer, our neighbors plant a garden.  Last year, they shared their wealth with us.  Tomatoes, yellow peppers, cucumbers, blueberries, etc.  When they began to gather plants for this years planting, they had a few too many and brought us some tomato plants to see if we wanted to give it a shot.  The tomatoes were only little seedlings, I planted them in pots to see how we would do.

The husband kept telling me that I needed to transfer them to a garden, but I didn’t want that undertaking, and I had researched growing tomatoes in pots.  Yes, it can be done.  Each year, I give gardening a try (ok, so it’s not really gardening, just potted plant babysitting).  I am trying to convince myself that I have a green thumb like both my parents.  I guess I need that extra little push, and that’s what the husband is for!  After a little coaxing and some advice from family, we decided to give a garden a shot.  Taking a trip to Home Depot, we added more to our “little” garden.  I will blame it on the husband, he went a little overboard.  I wanted to start slow and see how we did.  If this year was a success, we would add more next year.  But no, we got more tomatoes, squash, zucchini, a bell pepper plant, a jalapeno plant, and an icebox watermelon plant.  But wait, it doesn’t stop there!  The husband distinctly remembers planting seeds with his mom, so, we got some seeds too.  Carrots, radishes, squash and corn.  I will admit, I do not have a lot of experience with these things, and am weary of our gardening-luck, but I guess there is no harm in trying.  I think we barely spent $30 on everything.  I am optimistic we will get SOMETHING out of the garden.

So, we spent the better part of the day yesterday laying out the spot for the garden, preparing the soil and plating.  All 3 of us were out there, shovels, hoes, rakes, getting our hands and knees dirty.  Honestly, Jax wasn’t the only one covered head to toe in red dirt.  I know the husband and I did have as much fun digging in the dirt as Jax did.  Standing back and looking at our finished product, I am pretty proud!

I will keep the updates coming on our “experimental garden.”  For now, here is a sneak peek:

DAY 1

Posted in: Family, Gardening