Self……. Portraits?

Posted on April 5, 2011

0



Sometimes mommy responsibilities trump creative ideas.  I want to make it a point to take a little time out, at least once a week, and carry out my ideas (or at least one).  Even if I get 20 minutes, that’s a bit of an outlet!  I read something inspiring today to start a fire under my motivation, in one of my favorite blogs:  http://shuttersisters.com/home/2011/3/29/a-shadow-of-self.html

I have never liked to turn the camera on myself.  I cannot tell you exactly why.  It’s my personal preference; I would rather be behind the camera.  I have always been this way since I fell in love with photo.  But, this article has sparked an interest in self-portraits.

I am going to try very hard to pull myself out from behind the camera, and use myself as a subject every now and again.  NO FEAR!

A few inspiring words:

study of self

seeking grace in conflict

growth

discovery

Here is my first self portrait.  In my space, this is me.  I am having a love affair with camera apps.  I currently have 8 very different camera apps on my iPhone.  It’s quick, convenient, experimental, I don’t have to carry around 8 different cameras.  I love photo experiments.

Posted in: Creative, Photography