Homemade

Posted on January 18, 2011

1



I did decide to venture down the homemade bread-making road using my new stand mixer I got for Christmas.  My first attempt at whole wheat bread came out pretty good (most importantly edible).  I was proud that I could make something wholesome for my family, without any preservatives.  My main concern was that it would not keep for very long.  After researching on the internet, I found the best way to keep homemade bread fresh was to make sure it is kept in an airtight container or bag in the cupboard or on the counter.  I also read that the freezer is a good option, but I have always thought frozen bread has a funny taste after you defrost it.  I used a zip-tight bag and made sure I got all the air out before closing it, then just kept it on the counter where we normally keep our bread.  Both loaves kept for over a week.  Another concern was that making my own bread would be time consuming.  Measuring out and mixing the ingredients take up the most time, maybe 20 minutes.  Then you have to let the dough rise, just let the bowl sit, covered with a dish towel on the counter.  Easy, peasy.

There are a few things I need to fine tune:

1. I need a bigger loaf pan.

All of my loaf pans are 8.5×4.5×2.5 inches.  The loaves are pretty small which results in slider-sized sandwiches.  I don’t mind this, the little sandwiches are very cute, but the husband likes a big man-sized sandwich.  I told him he could make 2 or 3 little sandwiches, but he responded, “Who wants to make that many sandwiches for themselves every time.”  I can see his point.

2. The first batch of bread was pretty dense.

This time, I added a little white flour to the wheat flour.  I also tried not kneading the dough too much, as I think I did last time.  Hopefully this works, if not, back to the drawing board.

3.  I want to expand my bread-making horizons.

I used the recipe that came in the instruction book for the mixer.  I found this one that looks pretty promising: http://artisanbreadbaking.com/bread/lady_redesdale. I also distinctly remember my mother making a rosemary bread of some sort.  There are endless possibilities.

I would greatly appreciate any feedback or helpful hints from anyone willing to share!

