Sew Much Love

Posted on January 8, 2011

0



In an attempt to channel my creative self, I had the urge to sew something the other day.  I love to sew, although it comes in sporadic bursts.  After putting the little man down that night, I pulled out my sewing machine and the pattern I planned to use.  I recently discovered a new obsession: vintage sewing patterns, particularly from the 40s and 50s.  Thanks to Etsy!  An abundance of vintage sewing patterns can be found here, and for those that are not comfortable sitting at the sewing machine, you can have garments created just for you.  Man I love that website.

Anyways, I chose my pattern (the shirt pattern, top picture, front).  The material I used was a silk blend I found at WalMart in the discount bin for $1.00/ yard (this is an extremely good deal as fabric can get expensive).  After cutting out my pattern, I sat down to put it all together.  Vintage sewing patterns have proven to be a bit of a challenge.  They are a bit different from patterns you find at the store today, I have had to interpret some of the sewing-lingo used and some of the measurements are a bit odd.  This is a welcome challenge though and I have proven to myself that I am somewhat handy when it comes to working out these problems. There is much pride in creating something with your own two hands, especially when you can wear it.  Final product to come, as I have a few alterations to make.

